People Who Live In Glass Houses Should Not Throw Stones – My Own Hungry Planet Photograph

Time Magazine: Peter Menzel’s Hungry Planet Series

IMG_20150211_014107

It is easy to look into other’s lives and see what is amiss. However, it is a lot harder to discern what needs changing in your own life. As I perused the Hungry Planet Project Series by Peter Menzel and Faith D’Aluisio, I found myself judging the diets of the families. I noticed the myriad Coca Colas in the Mexican home, the surplus of chips and sugary snacks in the American homes, and the vast array of processed food in practically every first world living room.

When I looked over my own grocery list, however, I noticed just how much the global marketplace influences my own diet.  As much as I detest advertisements, my grocery list sang a different tune with most of my food choices emblazoned with brand names. My disappointment persisted when I analyzed my diet, or lack thereof, it was plain my choices are high in fat, and processed. I eat mostly carbohydrates and meat at every meal. I have a sugary drink, and indulge in cookies practically every day.  I, like many, convince myself that if I abstain from eating fast food, I am eating healthily.

As I composed my photograph, I became aware of the impact culture has upon my food choices. Some of my food preferences were influenced by the foods I became accustomed to in the United States, and some of my diet was influenced by my Puerto Rican ethnicity.  Most of my favorite items are Puerto Rican, yet American food such as Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches and my own rendition of shepherd’s pie are vital to my existence. Although I do attempt to eat healthily by eating some fruits and vegetables, if I am to be completely honest, I usually accompany the vegetables with food high in fat. While it is easy to be critical of others, it is an enlightening, humbling experience to analyze what one consumes.

I strongly encourage you to photograph your weekly food intake.Even if you don’t change one thing, just the process of composing a photograph and analyzing what you put into your body is beneficial.

Leave a Reply

